In some countries, bicycles are increasingly replacing cars, while in others, people prefer driving over cycling. What are the reasons behind this trend? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Plenty of nations around the globe are witnessing that people prefer using bicycles instead of cars, however, in some other countries the issue is the opposite and individuals opt for driving rather than using bicycles. There exist some criteria and measured behind these trends which are going to be discussed in this essay and then it will be illustrated that whether they can be considered as merits or drawbacks.

In some cosmopolitan cities around the world, people have encountered environmental and health problems regarding pollution caused by automobiles and factories. For the fact that there seem not to be a lot of solutions to these phenomena, individuals have come up with the idea of using bicycles to reduce the amount of pollution, besides, they are showing more eagerness to have a healthier lifestyle. For example, Netherlands is famous for its non-polluted environment as a result of people’s awareness in using bicycles.

On the other hand, seemingly the awareness mentioned in the previous paragraph, has not expanded in some other countries and people are not alert enough to get to know the advantages of using bicycles and replace cars with them, so they still would rather make use of their personal cars. This way more gasoline will is used and it certainly harms people’s health, especially their respiratory system.

In conclusion, by comparing these two attitudes, the first opinion is believed to be a more intellectual and logical one. So that, making advantages of bicycles and forgetting about cars would be beneficial.