In some countries, bicycles are increasingly replacing cars, while in others, people prefer driving over cycling. What are the reasons behind this trend? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Unlike the past, in the contemporary era, the use of bicycles has been rising for the last decade in certain countries, resulting in the gradual replacement of cars as the primary mode of transportation. However, in other parts of the world, people continue to rely heavily on motor vehicles. This prevailing concern is driven by a lot of significant factors and people are becoming aware of their carbon footprints. I personally believe that this is a constructive advancement because cycling is one of the best physical exercises.

To commence with, mitigating greenhouse gas emissions is the major reason for this trend. To be more precise, owing to the awareness about pollution and the benefits of cycling, individuals have been opting for bicycles, since these are an excellent way of transportation. Besides, this eco-friendly vehicle does not require any fuel. Therefore, there is no carbon emission resulting in masses prioritising bicycles over cars. At the same time, the bicycle is less likely to be a practical option in critical weather conditions. Delving deeper, in winters, cycling is a challenging task for a rider as it requires quite good grip on the road, it is impossible in snow. To take an epitome of Canada, owing to heavy amount of snow the weather conditions in winter are more severe and cycling is a terrible task to do in such type of weather. Thus, Canadians prefer to drive rather than cycling.

Probing further, the swift incline of masses towards cycling is considered as a positive development. This is because, cycling requires a lot of physical energy and performing it on a daily basis will not only help people to be fit but also reduce the burden on medical sector. Japan, for instance, where Japanese people opt for riding bicycles, is healthier than its counterparts.

In conclusion, despite the fact that cycling could be a horrible task in harsh weather, the fact can not be neglected that it is equally beneficial for the environment and people’s health provided that it is implement with a necessary support and planning