In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

In some nations, the criminal trials are being broadcasted on television by law courts to be transparent to the society, this could result in some drawbacks.

The criminal trials which are being showed on television can lead to criticism in someone’s life. The embarrassment that criminal’s family or friends faces really hurts their sentiments of being in a relation with the accused. For instance, in the US, a family member of the accused committed suicide just after few days of final judgement. Later, the investigation revealed that the criminal’s father was criticized by the media and his neighbourhoods, which left him with no choices but to take away his own life. I think this should not be seen as a major disadvantage because the justice should be transparent towards the general public including the victim’s family.

By broadcasting the trials among the public, shows the level of transparency in the society. As an illustration, in Saudi Arabia, the law courts display their criminal trials on big screens in order to serve justice, which must be witness by the people of the country. This helps in building trust and a high level of confidence in the public. I believe this a strong point because the people who are seeking justice can rely on law courts and witness the justice being served publicly.

In conclusion, although people will face criticism because of trials shown in public for people to watch it, the level of transparency within the society will aid victim’s families to be rely on law courts far outweighs the drawbacks.