In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

In recent years, the population of those who live below the poverty line are remarkably increasing, it was caused by an escalating crime wave. In order to lower it, the government live-streamed the law courts in mass media for the public, and in my opinion, the benefits are equal to the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are many arguments in favour of televising court proceedings. Firstly, this ensures that efficient and fair trials are there. Because of televising, many people will be able to access the court cases and also will be able to criticise the judges for engaging in a trail increasingly. Secondly, televising trials can serve an educational purpose. Many people are unfamiliar with courtroom procedures, legal terminology, or their own rights within the justice system. By watching trials, citizens can gain a better understanding of the law and how it operates. For instance, high-profile cases, in particular, can spark public debates about important legal and social issues, encouraging civic engagement.

On the other hand, there are many people who believe that watching live criminal trials could foster illegal thoughts in children’s minds. More specifically, children can accidentally believe that the activities of the jailed person were revenge because of their incomprehensive thinking. For example, when the child is bullied by their friends, they will use criminal trials as a model to set up a revenge plan. This consequently could affect many people and their near future.

In conclusion, I reiterate that the televising trials present certain benefits in terms of transparency and education. Therefore, the overall picture suggests that the benefits are far more significant than the disadvantages.