In some countries, fast food restaurants and companies give money to schools provided that the schools promote their products to school children. What do you think is the positive and negative of this in the development of children?

Many schools are funded by fast food companies and supermarkets to promote their products. Some say this is a vital stimulus development for both sides, others argue that it would result in severe consequences. I personally believe that the positive effects outweigh the shortcomings of introducing such products in an educational space.

First of all, schools can improve their infrastructure with the money funded. With the help of companies and supermarkets, they can afford a variety of technology and utensils for students. For example, projectors can be installed in classrooms to help children understand the topics and lessons more effectively, resulting in a higher academic performance. In addition to amenities, extracurricular activities can also give students opportunities to socialize and learn practical skills. Schools can host outdoor events to encourage pupils with teamwork, critical thinking and general knowledge, further gaining them experiences and insights about what they may deal with in the future.

However, it also brings a number of drawbacks, including the exposure of children with unhealthy products. Since students are in the age of developing, they need to have a safe and healthy eating habits instead of consuming junk food. By popularizing these fast food companies, children may prefer fast food over a nutrient rich diet, undermining their long-term physical health. Moreover, advertising through schools can be deemed as unethical and exploitative, especially when children are involved. It is a fact that children are usually easy to be manipulated, therefore promoting their companies to schools may lead to distraction and low competition.

In conclusion, while promoting fast food and supermarket products may offer schools a more advanced infrastructure and prepare students essential skills, it also induces a unhealthy lifestyle and moral issues. Although parents can avoid the disadvantages by raising their children’s awarenesses of the problems.