In some countries, it is usual for young people who graduate from high school to spend a year working or traveling before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Gap year is very popular in some countries among students who graduate from high school to spend a year for working in some job or travelling in the world before start to university. There are benefits and drawbacks to this gap year in their life. On the one hand, young people can see real world while they are working or travelling in the world. This is a unique opportunity. On the other hand, this gap year steal their 1 year from their life.

Young people can travel all of the world with their young age. When you do this travel in these age, the taste will be different. They can see different culture and cuisine as well. When they work, they can also see the real world. They understand the value of the money and the purchase power in their young age, so that they can start to invest money for their life. They will never come back these age, they need to travel around the world, discover new things and working some different job. After this one year, they can even decide what they love to do.

There are also some drawbacks about this gap year. First of all, they need to explain this year to their hiring manager when they apply to position. This is little bit hard situation because human resources don’t want to see any gap between high school and university in their resume. In addition to this, They will also go to university one year later, they will not be the same age with their friends. This will be problem to understand each other. For instance, they can see other student as a teenager and they don’t want to contact with them.

In conclusion, gap year is so popular among young people. They need to think and decide their own life with benefits and drawbacks about gap year.