In some countries, people are forced to retire when they reach a certain age. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

In diverse nations, people are obliged to retire at a specific age. In this context, there are multiple advantages and disadvantages present, and I will introduce them in this essay.

To begin with the positive side, retiring at a certain age can make a beneficial impact on older people’s well-being and society’s good process. A common human being can only excel in their career to a point, due to the lack of energy and movement. In contrast, a person can be forced to withdraw, by not making a negative decision or judgement, in the work field. This way, both society and retirees can benefit, due to the fact that, from the society’s view, the particular jobs can be done correctly and at the best level, while the seniors could enjoy and relax, in the final years, not being burden by excessive workload. For example, my grandpa, who was a policeman, was forced to retire at 40 years old. He expressed that this decision made a major impact on him, because he couldn’t perform his job as he did 20 years ago and was glad to know the society couldn’t be harmed by his decisions.

Moving on to the negative side, this activity could make a significant number of people jobless. If every person was forced to retire at a certain age, regardless of the career, then a significant part of the population will not receive a reasonable income and the unemployment rate would be at its highest. This way, poverty would be a more common social phenomenon encountered, transforming drastically the country’s economy. For example, in numerous countries in Asia, this law was implemented and practiced. By the following years, the countries had met the highest unemployment rate in history, followed by a poor economy.

In conclusion, while there are obvious benefits to this measure, including increasing senior’s well-being and society’s good job practice, the downsides are also present, by impacting majorly the nation’s economy and out of the work field rate.