In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

People have longer working hours in several countries across the world.

In my opinion, this happens due to extra work pressure created by organizations. Though this might seem beneficial in the present, it could be potentially hazardous in the long run.

Various organization create targets for their employees which are difficult to achieve with regular working hours. Thus, they are made to work for longer hours to complete their tasks as employees are under pressure of completing their tasks to ensure job security while sometimes, employees are motivated to work longer by providing them additional salary benefits for working overtime. On the other hand, some people themselves are extremely dedicated to their careers which makes them go an extra mile to achieve their goals. Such people compromise on their personal lives and spend more time at work.

This is a negative development in recent years. Over a period of time, it tends to decrease productivity among people. It also increases stress which leads to inadequate sleep and numerous chronic health conditions. It is essential that people get enough time to spend with their family, fulfil their chores and ensure adequate good quality sleep. This ensures good physical as well as mental health. Consequently, it boosts productivity among people and enhances their creativity.

To conclude, people must be encouraged to enjoy their hobbies and spend quality time with their friends and family for a healthy work-life balance. Therefore, organizations need to limit the number of working hours according to the global norms.