In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Secondary schools provide further study for students to prepare for job market or higher education. In some nations, high schools focus on building skills related to student’s chosen profession, while in the other countries students study in a broader range of knowledge rather than in certain scope of subjects. In my view, I believe that learning a variety of skills is more beneficial for students in modern society.

On the one hand, children can start their chosen career after graduate from secondary schools that provide training related to particular career. In this way, they can start to making money as soon as possible, and therefore become financially independent. As a result, they can afford their own house or start their own family. However, if they found out that their chosen career does not suitable for them, it may be a challenge for them when they decided to transfer in to a different profession because they might not have sufficient knowledge or qualification.

On the other hand, studying in a wide range of subjects allows children to access to a broader range of career path. Although they might not be competent to enter job market after graduate, it provides them more options when pursuing further education. Also, this provides children an opportunity to choose their desire profession in a later stage of study; since many adolescent are not yet considered what they really want to do in the future, it is better let them make their decision later.

In conclusion, although there are benefits to provide students subjects related to career, I believe that it is more beneficial for them to study a wider range of subjects.