In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries students reside in their hometown with their family during their university years whereas in other countries students more commonly leave for another city. There are several reasons why I believe that studying away from home has more advantages than drawbacks.

Firstly, we need to consider the fact that studying in another city gives a chance for students to explore themselves in many ways. One of the biggest changes that they usually experience once they start their journey in a remote place is independence. Living independently means that the newcomers will be responsible for much more that they used to, including their clothing, accommodation, health and even financial well-being. Having a sense of responsibility throughout their academic years helps them grow as more alert and punctual individuals which can be of huge importance in their studies as well as their future careers.

Another advantage of studying in another city is that it allows for networking amongst students. Although networking can be possible even in students’ home cities, it is especially important in further destinations since students are also likely to communicate with people outside their campuses thereby making friends from the hosting city. A bigger circle of friends increases their chance of collaboration both within and outside the university life.

However, the joy and benefit of spending university life away from home sometimes comes at a considerable price. Students, especially those who have never experienced living apart from their families, struggle getting accustomed to living the new phase of their life. Homesickness and loneliness are commonly experienced by such students and may lead to anxiety which in turn can result in poor concentration on their daily tasks and overall academic performance. Also, the unavailability of their close ones for a face-to-face talk over particular issues that arise during their stay in the new city may be another discomfort. When these students have no one to turn to when they are in need of support and/or advice, the problems may have a rather long-lasting negative influence on their mood and academic achievement.

In conclusion, choosing another city to study in can be both advantageous and distressful. In my opinion, the numerous merits that it offers certainly outweighs its temporary downsides.