In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do you think the advantages that the government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that there are some differences in how tuitions are paid globally. While students fees in some countries pays by the government, students in others need to pay for their own. There are both merits and demerits; however, I believe that the drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, if the education will be free for everyone, the students may lose their interest in studying and not feel responsibility. And other drawback is a pressure on the national budget. Most nations have a lot of problems in spite of tuitions. It is much better to focus on other weaknesses. For example: road infrastructure, ecosystem, building industry.

On the other hand, I argue that the advantages of this solution would prove to be worthwhile. If authorities pay for their inhabitants’ tuitions, it will provide everyone, especially those coming from less well-off backgrounds, an opportunity to have proper education. Since the burden of paying tuition fees is alleviated to some extent, parents or guardians from poor families can save more money and can improve their positions. Furthermore, education is a foundation on which many genius ideas are born. To be more specific, if more and more people can go to school, it will result in a more skilled and educated workforce, with many talented people who are not only energetic but also hold potential to contribute ideas for solving urgent problems related to the climate, ecosystem, and even poverty. These advantages not only benefit individuals who receive the tuition fees subsidies but also the whole country in general.

In conclusion, despite the budget deficits that this trend may cause, the plus points of the government being responsible for paying the tuition are much more important because it will bridge the societal gap between the rich and the poor as well as having a more comprehensive approach to solving other matters.