In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations public transportation is promoted as the main means of transportation and private vehicle ownership is not approved by the government. In my opinion, the advantages of this practice outshine the disadvantages.

The first benefit of using public transportation is the reduction in the consumption of fuels. We have a limited source of fuels left on our planet and everyone must worry about it. By reducing the number of private vehicles, we can store more fuels for public transportation. The second advantage is very clear air and an ecological environment. For example, Switzerland is one of the best countries in being friendly with the environment. There are a lot of taxes and regulations for car ownership, so people prefer bicycles. As a result, they reduced the use of fuels, they escaped from air pollution and even citizens have become more athletic. The third merit is the low cost of public transportation which is affordable for everyone.

Of course, there are some downsides as well. Public transport does not offer the same comfort as private vehicles. If you do not have your own car, you must follow a special schedule and catch the bus. It can cause very big trouble in some cases. For instance, someone gets in an accident and he must go to the hospital immediately. You can not wait for an ambulance or use public transport, because it takes a lot of time. In this case, a private car is the best option for everyone.

In conclusion, there are definitely more advantages than disadvantages to promoting public transport. It is not very comfortable and takes longer to reach the destination, but it saves our environment.