In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the general view of the younger generation has changed dramatically since the internet world began to evolve. Some young people still rely on their parents’ way of thinking; some of them already have a very clear mindset about what they are going to achieve in their future.

For example, in some countries, more young people are choosing to train their working skills instead of studying in universities. This could benefit them in different ways; it does not just help them get used to the societal system, with which they might be overwhelmed; it also can build social bonds with different colleagues they meet in their training sections. This can help them to integrate themselves into the busy world as soon as possible, to become a part of the working world. They could also learn different working skills from the training sections and would be less stressed in their actual jobs.

All these advantages might sound attractive, but when it comes to job interviews, the first thing the interviewer will ask is “Where did you graduate?” and “What degree or degrees are you holding?” This could be quite frustrating for young people who did not attend universities, as they cannot show anything to prove that they have the capability to work in their company or even have the knowledge or skills to be a part of it.

In my opinion, academics are more important than raw skills because, even if you do not attend work-based training, you are going to learn those skills in your university. Additionally, the modern world will be taken over by machines, even AI. The vast majority of jobs can be done by computers and machines, and workers will be eliminated soon.

In conclusion, the advantages of this situation cannot outweigh the disadvantages.