In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In certain countries, many young adults opt for on-the-job training instead of attending higher tertiary education. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. Gaining real-life experience and being stress-free is greater than a lack of detailed information.

Gaining real-life experience. People who choose to work and train at the same time are usually more qualified than those who have academic knowledge. Most of the jobs require competency with qualified experience, which is an added advantage to those who enrolled in work-based training. They are more attracted to employers. For example, for individuals who major in motor mechanics, it is advantageous to work with vehicles every day to improve their learning skills. Furthermore, young people spend no cost on learning on the job, which reduces worries about getting loans to fund university studies. Stress is also minimized by not spending years of studying and struggling to find a job because employers are looking for experience.

On the other hand, young people who choose work-based training over a degree lack detailed information. They do not have more skills to compete with university knowledge. These young people lack the skills to make greater decisions. For instance, they will not get opportunities to work in large companies that consider academic knowledge despite the level of experience they have. This will limit their exposure to real-world experience by working with local and small companies only.

In conclusion, young adults want to gain real-life experience without being depressed about university funds to support their education and the time they spend away from their families, and at the same time, they will have limited information for greater decision-making, making it less important.