Some people argue that private car use should be heavily restricted or even banned in major cities in order to reduce air pollution. Others believe that individuals should retain the freedom to use private vehicles, and that alternative solutions should be found to address environmental concerns. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding air pollution becoming a major issue in urban areas due to private vehicles. A group of individuals believe that these private transports must not be used in metropolitans to decrease the impact of this problem. However, others argue that people ought to use their own vehicles and environmental problems should be solved by different options. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both the views will be discussed further.

Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forward is that private vehicles are the major polluters in cities. This is because these transports give off a large amount of fumes that directly affect public health and air quality. For example, in Hanoi, there are a number of motorbikes, cars that people use to work in the morning. This makes the traffic congested and overloaded, so air emissions are unable to escape. This result causes severe pollution and makes Hanoi become one of the most polluted cities in the world. In addition, they also believe that banning private transports is the best way to diminish the pollution and enhance the air conditions. Because private cars are the main reason, the government should not allow individuals to use their transports in urban areas. As the result, air quality will improve significantly.

On the contrary, those in favor of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that personal transports should continue to be used. This is because car emissions are not the main reasons for polluters, waste or sewage from the factories and industries are the biggest reasons. Moreover, various alternatives, namely limiting fumes from these factories, building industry areas far from residential areas or fining individuals who break traffic rules. For instance, factories should work in limited time to avoid emitting excessive dirty fumes. Additionally, if people throw litter, they have to pay a heavy fine.

To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against it is argued that the use of personal vehicles in major cities should be restricted or banned to recover the air conditions, whereas others believe that people should continue using their own transports and other useful alternatives will deal with those environmental issues. However, I certainly favor the former opinion.