In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of teaching children at home?

Today, the number of parents who prefer home education rather than sending their children to school continues to increase for several reasons. While home education may bring several benefits such as greater individual attention and flexible schedule, I firmly believe these advantages can be easily overtaken by its disadvantages including lack of social interaction with classmates and exposure to various perspectives in the long run.

One of the compelling benefits of homeschooling is greater attention for a child. When parents provide children with a private educator, they are more likely to get special attention in their both academic performance and behaviours. A child who studies at school may be under constant supervision which may prevent them ‘spoiling’ or wasting their valuable time. Besides that, homeschooling offers students a flexible schedule, enabling them to engage with activities they are truly passionate about. For example, there is a significant gap between a school student whose daily routine is planned based on school schedules and homeschooled students who are capable of allocating their time independently. Sometimes school students may lack time for their hobbies because of exams and school events, while homeschooled ones can manage both since there is no restriction and structured routines.

However, I strongly believe this preference of parents overlooks the benefits of traditional schooling. One of the disadvantages of homeschooling is the lack of social interaction. When children are educated without classmates, they may struggle to interect with others, which not only reduce the capability of interaction but aslo weaken their communication skill – one of the most valuable skill for future career prospects , in the long run. Morover, homeschooling may be ineffective in terms of exposuring children to different perspectives and situations. When a child studies at home, he or she is more likely to be weak in competeting with others, experiencing different situations, working as a team or may fail to understand the importance of social cohesion.

To conclude, although today many parents choose homeschooling for their children’s education regarding flexibility and individual attention, I firmly believe its disadvanatges such as reduced social communication, and exposure to different perspectives are far more significant. Indeed, without these mentioned qualities, it is difficult to cultivate well-rounded and resourceful individuals.