In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of teaching children at home?

In some countries, there has been increase in the number of parents who are choosing to educate their children at home instead of sending the to school. While home education has any certain challenges, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, particularly in curriculum customization and time flexibility.

Home schooling offers more flexible and customized curriculum based on children needs and talents, so the learning process will be more children-centric and adaptive. Such an approach will be beneficial to achieve high academic performance, because the lessons are customized and personalized to the children unique character and interest in lessons. For instance, compared to public or private school that implement general curriculum, where children cannot be focus to improve what they really want to improve and achieve, because the curriculum is designed generally and collectively. Meanwhile, when students are taught by their private teachers, the learning process will be more personal-oriented.

Furthermore, choosing to educate children at home has a positive impact on time flexibility, so children can have more time to explore other skills beside the academic courses. In many countries, school time is designed from the morning until the afternoon or evening, so students do not have much time to explore other beneficial skills, such as playing music and speaking other language. Meanwhile, children who are learning at home have a more flexible schedule, so they can have more time to explore other activities that are more relevant to their interests.

In conclusion, home education makes the learning process more effective in developing students skills both in academic and non-academic performances.