In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Young generations, in some parts of the world, experience a shortage of free time and are under educational pressure on a daily basis. It can be seen in the burden of assignments and learning curriculum they are provided in school environments with less time to rest. It undoubtedly can result in students suffering from the indirect pressure that schools provide.

As schools these days endeavour to contest to provide better quality education, they fail to acknowledge that can impact the students. Certain schools that apply an international curriculum system are assumably taking more students’ time. As a result, students are prone to experience early stress as they can’t exceed the school’s expectations and standards. It is what students in some parts of Indonesia who enrolled in international schools had to spend time fulfilling their academic responsibility and their non-academic activities as well.

Internal family issues could also contribute to the pressure that students experience. They’re facing early mental issues as they have to witness firsthand their family issues along with their academic burden. Consequent to this, less space and time to experience leisure time which can benefit them both physically and mentally.

Therefore, governments and schools need to reassess their curriculum and the burden of assignments they give students. They are the policymakers and essential actors in providing adequate policy where students should experience growth instead of feeling like they are living in jail. Additionally, ensuring students experience growth instead of under pressure should solve this problem. Hence, families need to provide their children a safe space and psychological aid, so they can manage and feel safe even when they carry heavy burdens.