In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some other cultures youth are more valued. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether old generations or young timers are of more significance to the cultures. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my own opinion at the end.

Elderly people are placed on a more important place in some cultures because of their abundant experience and knowledge. Firstly, old people have witnessed different phases of history, and their thought patterns are complex, influenced by the characteristics of the times. Additionally, they are willing to express their thoughts to youth. As a result, it enables younger generations to have an indepth understanding about their past generations’ thoughts and behaviours. Furthermore, they would find their current life has something in common with them, which can inspire them to relate their current life to the past, improving their sense of belonging in the society.

However, those cultures who value youth highly can also enhance social cohesion in this way. On the one hand, young timers obtain an opportunity to showcase their unique talents and to participate in the constructions of their motherlands. On the other hand, they also get a chance to win old generations’ respect, which would definitely be honors to them. In addition to this, when young people feel valued and understood, it would be likely to relate to them, improving their sense of belonging in the society and enhancing social cohesion.

In conclusion, elderly people have their distinctive function of inheriting ideas from the past while youth play an indispensable role since social cohesion would be improved. As far as I am concerned, high value should be attached to both, because without any of them, the society can’t function perfectly.