In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some other cultures youth are more valued. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether old generations or younger generations are of more significance in shaping cultures. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my own opinion at the end.

Elderly people hold a more important position in some cultures because of their abundant experience and knowledge. Firstly, older people have witnessed different phases of history, and their thought patterns are complex, influenced by the characteristics of the times. Additionally, they are willing to express their thoughts to younger generations. As a result, this enables younger generations to have an in-depth understanding about their past generations’ thoughts and behaviours. Furthermore, they may find their current life has something in common with them, which can inspire them to relate their current life to the past, improving their sense of belonging in society.

However, those cultures that value place high value on youth can also enhance social cohesion in this way. On the one hand, young people gain opportunities to showcase their unique talents and to contribute to building their nations. On the other hand, they get a chance to earn old generations’ respect, which would definitely be an honor to them. In addition to this, when young people feel valued and understood, they are more likely to relate to others, improving their sense of belonging in the society and enhancing social cohesion.

In conclusion, elderly people have their distinctive function of inheriting ideas from the past while youth play an indispensable role since social cohesion would be improved. As far as I am concerned, equal value should be attached to both, because without either of them, the society cannot function perfectly.