In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

In recent years, it is a rising trend that female students are more attracted to art subjects, while males are more likely to study subjects related to science. In this essay, I would explain some reasons behind this tendency before assessing whether it should be altered.

One of the main factors causing this phenomenon is that there are gender stereotypes which shape gender roles and define what is appropriate for boys and girls to pursue. As most of the scientists are men and the majority of artists are women in the past, it gradually set up implicit social norms making girls less confident in science subjects and boys less inclined to do arts. This is also because people tend to follow what is virtually preferred when their personal interests or talents have not been determined at academic institutions. For example, some female students cannot choose their future careers since they are not passionate about a particular subject, thereby following choices that are popular among girls, and so do male students. Consequently, the differences in subject selection between genders have become increasingly distinct in school and universities.

Although this tendency has been continually existing, I believe that it is essential to change the trend in choosing subjects between females and males. Individuals should freely pursue subjects relating to their capabilities, personal interests or special talents, instead of being guided by society or parents’ expectations. This provides students with opportunities to express themselves, develop their strengths, and build confidence in their abilities. As a result, more students can achieve better academic performance, which contributes to social development and might also help slightly balance the phenomenon.

In conclusion, gender-based preferences on subjects are affected by the majority influence and historically rooted social assumptions. I personally believe this tendency in school and universities should be altered by giving freedom for individuals to study their strengths, creating equal opportunities for both male and female students.