In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

In academic institutions, female-dominated subjects are likely to relate to art, while science subjects is likely to be prefered by their counterparts. In this essay I will propose several posible rationale for this trend before presenting my point of view.

Notably, one main reason for girls’ preferences is these types of subjects don’t depend heavily on theoretical knowlegde. Unlike physics or mathematics, which focus mainly on statistics, data and analysis, art subjects provide students with background knowlegde and encourage them to present their perspectives through different art forms like music, art and clothes designing. Therefore, these majorities assist them in discovering their full potential and gaining experiences from predecessors. Moreover, art-related subjects also foster learners’ curiosity and creativity, which are essential elements for becoming a successful artist.

Moreover, boys’ tendency of majoring in science subjects result from several reasons. One reason is that they often desire to push their boundaries to the limit, such as choosing challenging subjects that require brainstorming and hours to resolve. For example, spending hours dealing with tough tasks would make them feel more energized and excited. Additionally, male also have better physical and mental well-being compare to their counterparts. Hence, they could be able to work efficiently under pressure and stay productive within limited time.

In conclusion, in the light of the aforementioned reasons, girls and boys have different preferences in engaging in their subjects depend on their characteristics and hobbies. However, governments and institutions should provide appropriate guidances for them to choose their desire subjects even if they are different from others.