In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays the overall majority of countries and societies are confronted with an increasing level of juvenile delinquency. More often than not, children manage to exempt from full punishment and get a suspended sentence. Nevertheless, I presume that officers of the court ought not to be soft on crime and treat underage culprits leniently.

To begin with, such heinous crimes as burglary, drug trafficking, assault, rioting, and, especially, killing someone with malice aforethought are committed not by small children, but adolescents who should have already overcome their malleability and become responsible for their actions and inactions. It is common knowledge that all teenagers in Russia are taught social science and law at schools. Beyond any doubt, these courses provide them with the pivotal knowledge of liability for crimes and must deter them from breaking the law. Hence, it would be unfair if youth got non-custodial sentences such as community service or home confinement for such grave offences.

Secondly, one cannot deny that the less responsibility minors bear for their actions, the more crimes are committed by them. Previous trials have reported that in countries where legal representatives stopped looking at the age of culprits when judging them, the level of juvenile delinquency has dropped significantly. For this reason, it is high time adolescents were held fully accountable for their actions.

To conclude, it is vital that the government realize that young people should have already become law-abiding people, and being soft for their crimes will definitely result in the growing felony. Thus, it is clear that criminal tendencies have nothing to do with age and young culprits must be sentenced as adults. This problem could be tackled only (in) this way.