In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some communities, the quantity of illegal activities conducted by youths is rising. Some individuals assume that adolescent offenders, no matter how old they are, should be punished in the same way as adults. To a certain extent I admit that serious crimes cause grave consequences, and they must be handled firmly to prevent reoffending. However, I also believe that severe penalties can be mentally harmful for young offenders, so the right approach should be used.

On the one hand, I admit that serious crime must be firmly handled. Offence is detrimental for society as it can cause injury, psychological trauma, and public spending, because a lot of materials are needed to recover. A lenient approach can increase recidivism rates, making offenders perceive punishment as not credible. For example, if a teenager involved in crime gets a light punishment, they might think they can break the law again without any trouble. With this in mind teenagers can create a crime cycle. So appropriate punishment plays a crucial role in a fight against crime.

On the other hand, I believe that psychological immaturity must be considered when punishing adolescent offenders. Teenagers’ cognitive development is not fully matured, so harsh discipline condition can damage them mentally. Criminal foundation can lead to reoffend in the future. For example, criminal surroundings forces teenagers to adapt to this environment since their young age, as a result these punishments will not be considered as serious as they were, making them confident in their future acts. Therefore, the harsh way of punishing can backfire with long-term crime and financial problems.

In conclusion, while I admit that firmly handling a crime is important, I do not believe that teenagers should be punished like adults. In my opinion teenagers are vulnerable, so the age should be considered, and they must be treated appropriately.