In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe cash will not be used in stores anymore as it is being gradually replaced by cards and digital payments. In my opinion, while cash usage will decline, people might not be happy with that because there are still several unsolved issues in other payment methods.

Cash usage is less than in the past due to more payment options, and it will be much less in the future. Because of the various options such as credit cards, paypal and e-transfer apps, individuals have other ways to pay instead of carrying cash outside every time they go out. Therefore, with the development of alternative methods, more people will tend to buy things without having any physical money in their wallets in the future.

However, paper money and coins will still be used since there are other problems appearing. For example, criminals may hack accounts and steal their information, and then use the data to make unauthorized payments. As those digital threats remain unsolved yet, they have raised concerns among people. As a result, some people start to avoid utilizing other measures than money since they believe it can protect their wealth. Another reason is apps and electricity, which alternative payment methods highly rely on, are not reliable all the time. Hence, if there is a power shortage or if app crashes, cash will be the only way to purchase.

In conclusion, although cards and phones are more commonly used, it is crucial to concern its drawbacks. A transition that physicals currency and digital payments exist simultaneously may be the most ideal approach.