In the future, robots and other forms of artificial intelligence may do the majority of the work that humans do today. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people think that the major tasks that humans perform today will be done by robots and other forms of artificial intelligence in the coming years. This essay argues that despite the main advantage of this being that life will become easier due to the faster execution of tasks by robots, I believe that there are more drawbacks as it would result in increased unemployment rates.

The main advantage of various forms of artificial intelligence such as robots taking over human jobs is that it would make human life convenient due to faster task executions. This is because robots outperform humans when it comes to speed as robots do not require any rest and they can operate for longer hours with perfection without getting tired. For instance, home-cleaning vacuum robots have made life much easier with their fast-cleaning operations as people can get their households clean within a couple of minutes. However, the unemployment rates increase in number due to this trend is a more serious concern.

One of the biggest drawbacks of artificially operated machines is that the employment rates will decrease in various sectors, which is not beneficial for the majority of people. That is to say that employees will be laid off because companies would prefer automatic operations in comparison to manual labor due to the accuracy and speedy services provided by robots. Accountancy can be taken as a prominent example; it can be commonly seen nowadays that most of the calculations and data management tasks are performed on artificially generated software which threatens the availability of this position in the future. For these reasons, I think that people getting redundant is a major disadvantage.

In conclusion, humans will undoubtedly benefit from the fast services provided by robots; however, I think that this trend would be more disadvantageous due to the increased unemployment rates.