In the past, knowledge was stored in books. Today, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It can not be denied that in the past people used to preserve knowledge in books. These days, however, a vast amount of information is stored online. Despite some drawbacks of this trend, I believe it has more advantages like easy access to information and good preservation.

Undeniably, storing data on the internet negatively affects its users. For one, the digital technologies emit radiation that causes serious problems in human health. Using them for a long time can result in long-term health problems. One example is carrying and using a phone or laptop continuously may cause different types of cancer. Another drawback is that excessive screen time, even if it is for learning purposes, puts a strain on eyesight. To read books or some articles, people usually spend hours and they often do so continuously. Consequently, it can result in poor eyesight, which is a lifelong hurdle. For example, reading a book on smartphones may harm the visual system and the reader will have no choice but to wear glasses or in the worst case undergo surgery.

Plausible as these negatives are, this change has a list of upsides. One major advantage of preserving knowledge online is its accessibility for everyone. Hence, people around the world will have an opportunity to find the information they need very easily through the internet, rather than waiting for a book to be delivered or translated. Most data on the internet is free, so users do not have to spend their money on materials. For example, Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, the readers can get easy access to it through the internet, without buying it. Furthermore, the knowledge can be preserved for generations on the internet and it remains unchanged, unlike books, whose quality deteriorates. Even if after hundreds of thousands of years, it will be at the same state as it is when uploaded. For instance, information that archived online can be preserved for a long period of time, ensuring that future generations can still access it.

In conclusion, it is true that people passed down the knowledge through books in the past, however, nowadays, it has changed to recording it online. Even though this trend has some disadvantages such as eye strain and radiation, I think that its benefits, like easy access and long-term preservation, are superior to its disadvantages.