In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent times, the onus to conduct scientific research is on private sector instead of public one. Although there is a downside related to fallacious data utilization, the upsides, including mitigated burden on the government and private sector growth, are far more significant.

The one limitation of above-mentioned trend is false use of drawn information. In other words, it not uncommon to see private enterprises generating misleading data for the sake of higher profits. A typical business mindset would say if imparting incorrect information gives more returns compared to reliable data, then it is prudent to go for the former alternative. As a consequence, the results will invariably be raising questions in the minds of general public.

Despite the above disadvantage, giving responsibility of scientific analysis to private institutions would lead to reduced burden. Since this may allow the government to utilize funds on other developmental areas, including education, health and infrastructure, thus leading to a harmonious growth of all sectors and effective deployment of resources.

Besides saving finances of public institutions, research conducted by private companies facilitate their own development. This is because scientific investigation provides a room for private firms to flourish in the market owing to unprecedented discoveries, thereby attracting peoples interest and empowering them to compete with government firms.

In conclusion, the assignment of duty of scientific study to private concerns certainly has more advantages in the form of lessened strain on the government, along with a progress of privately owned firms compared to its demerit related to unethical use of findings.