Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

One of the best solutions is raising the price of fuel to deal with increasing traffic and pollution issues. I completely agree with this and think restricting driving in some areas of the city also assists to overcome it.

First of all, I assume that the increase in fuel prices may cause people to use public transport. Despite the majority of people having their own cars these days, not all of them can afford the high fuel prices due to having a great deal of expenditure. By using buses or trains they can save money because the public transport prices are not as large as fuel prices. For example, If you use public transport to reach your destination you will pay triple less money than 1 liter of petrol price. Consequently, you save money for other expenditures. Using public transport leads to a decrease in the number of traffic jams and makes the air freshener and cleaner.

Another possible solution to address these problems is restricting driving vehicles in crowded areas of a city, particularly in the city centers. Providing public transport in these parts of the city can help individuals to get to their destination without a car. By doing so, we decline the number of vehicles. For instance, 20 people can drive their cars and it means 20 cars on the road, but they can go by only a bus or a train. It is preferable that 20 people get on a bus rather than driving their own cars because one bus produces less toxic gas and causes fewer accidents compared to 20 vehicles.

By way of conclusion, although the majority of people increase the number of traffic and pollution problems by driving their cars, we can deal with these problems by restricting driving in crowded areas of a city and providing more public transport.