Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the price of petrol is often viewed as one of the best solutions to solve the increasing traffic congestion and the problems related to producing greenhouse gasses. This essay disagrees that changing the cost of petrol will be the best strategy to prevent the difficulties in terms of traffic and pollution due to the alternative vehicles such as the cars which are not activated by petrol, and possibility to cause inflation and dramatically negative effect on people’s finances.

To begin with, even if the governmental authority increases the cost of petrol, it doesn’t mean that it will directly affect improving the traffic and air pollution. In other words, the ownership and usage of alternative vehicles will be significantly raised, such as the compact car that uses light oil. However, light oil also produces a considerable amount of greenhouse gasses with the main factors worsening our air environment. For example, in the case of Ireland whose government made the policy to raise the price of petrol for the national environment, from 1995 to 2018, 5% of the ownership for the cars activated by petrol has decreased, while 13% of the purchase for the compact cars has increased.

In addition, the probability of causing inflation will be also enlarged. Raising the price of something that is necessary for people’s lives is critical to the financial ecology as bringing with it the severe threats to mess up the social economy. As a result, it is going to ruin not only the citizen’s transportational lives, but also their finances since they have to take on more burdens to drive their cars. For example, in Mexico, the raising of the price of petrol by 5% from 2007 ultimately led to inflation that totally increased the cost of every item by 1.32% to 2023.

To conclude, this essay does not support the idea that increasing the cost of petrol is the best solution to improve the negative circumstances related to the traffic congestion and air pollution because the alternatives which also produce the same problems will always replace the cars activated by petrol, and it will devastate the economical states of people.