Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the price increase in petrol is the best solution to the heavy traffic situation and ecological problems. However, others have an opposite opinion on this problem.

To begin with, some people consider that the increase in prices for petrol will not solve environmental issues and deal with traffic jams. For instance, making petrol more expensive can lead to inflation. People will suffer from the level of all prices that will cause a worse quality of life. As a result, this way of solving the problem will not provide/ give fruitful results. Secondly, the majority of people will continue buying petrol even with new prices due to different personal circumstances, for example, their place of living or a lack of an alternative. Thus, the fact that prices might/ could rise will change the situation globally both in the environment and in heavy traffic.

However, I suppose the cost of petrol might influence traffic and ecology. As many people will have to switch to more eco-friendly means of transport due to high prices for petrol, there could be an improvement in the ecological situation because such vehicles as bikes do not exhaust fumes which are harmful for the environment and people’s health. Moreover, the increase in the price of petrol will solve the traffic problem. In this case, the bike can become an alternative as this means of transport does not require any petrol and could be ridden on a special lane which will reduce the number of traffic jams.

To sum up, it is a very controversial topic. Some people believe that more expensive petrol will not help in dealing with traffic and ecological issues because of inflation and personal circumstances. However, I consider that it will change the situation on the road and in the environment because people will find an eco-friendly alternative which will be more beneficial for the environment and traffic.