Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Improving the rate of petrol could be viewed as a manner to address problems related to traffic and pollution. While some argue that whatever the price of petrol is, average consumption could be relatively stable, thus exerting less positive influence on addressing pollution problems, I generally disagree with this view, and fortunately there are other initiatives could be more effective.

On the one hand, increasing the price of petrol may improve the efficiency of fuels. For instance, higher petrol price persuades some individuals to take public transportations, in other words, whatever full booked buses or empety ones would deplete nearly same fuel volume; therefore this kind of concentrated transportation could boost the rate of fuel utilization, as well as being a cost-effective choice for the public. Moreover, the less number of private cars on roads, which is reduced by price rising, could mitigate traffic problems, including traffic accidents or traffic congestion.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that rising price is not the most effective solution to environmental issues. Technological innovations clearly provide more environment-friendly and highly-efficient initiatives to enhance the sustainability of environmental resources. For example, electric mobility is a popular solution in recent years. Due to cleanliness associated with generating electricity, instead of fuel vehicles, numerous developed countries have prompted to leverage electronic vehicles for daily use. Over time, this initiative ultimately results in a significant decrease on the depletion of fuel resources. Furthermore, most electronic vehicles have equipped with an advanced guiding system, which reduces the risk of traffic incidents.

In conclusion, increasing petrol’s price plays a vital role for alleviating traffic and pollution problems to the most extent. Nevertheless, a growing number of innovations, such as electricity mobility, contribute to accelerating this transformation from the fuel-driven society to the environment-friendly society.