Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Road traffic and pollution are considered some of the world’s most worrying problems. One of the main factors of pollution is the over-consumption of petrol and the high amounts of CO2 released into the Earth’s atmosphere. Many argue that the increase of petrol prices is the best solution to today’s problems. This essay will show why I agree that increasing petrol prices is an effective solution as well as why I think other alternatives should be provided to help heal these issues efficiently.

Rising road traffic can be frustrating and stressful for drivers, it also plays part in the increase of pollution-related issues. I agree that higher petrol prices can discourage car shoppers from buying new ones, and people who already own vehicles might dislike having to pay these growing bills. Car users may start looking for different ways to get around their city or country without having to pay the high petrol prices.

On the other hand, if it is decided that petrol prices should be increased, other alternatives must be provided to replace personal vehicles. To help solve traffic and pollution issues, each country should provide multiple public transportation methods for its residents. These varying methods must include more environmentally-friendly ways of getting around the city or country. Public transport should be cheaper than petrol prices or even free to help encourage people to use public transportation instead

In conclusion, rising traffic and pollution problems need to be reduced and then stopped. Increasing petrol prices has been decided my many to be the best solution to these problems. I agree that increasing petrol bills is the best way of solving these issues, but it must also be accompanied by healthier, more eco-friendly substitutes. Providing clean, cheap, and accessible public transport can discourage vehicle-users from using their cars and help solve these rising issues.