Increasingly, many young people are deciding to work or study in other countries. What are the causes of this phenomenon? Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

The number of young adults who are making the decision of having an education or a work life in foreign countries is rising. The two main causes of this situation are globalization and economy, and I believe that this is a positive occurrence.

The primary reason of this phenomenon is that it has never been easier to travel around the world before; therefore it is more simple to work or study abroad. Compared to a few decades ago the technology has developed. There are airways in almost every country of the world, so it is possible to travel anywhere of the world with comparably affordable prices. This makes the world seems smaller compared to 20th century. Another reason is the economical differences between countries. The young adults, who are the citizens of the developing countries, desire to live in other states with better economic circumstances. For example, Turkey had an economic downturn after the COVID-19 pandemics, and the visa applications of the Turkish citizens to European countries had raised by 0 since then.

I believe this is a positive situation because as the multicultural diversity is increased it results in a more harmonised society. People become less prejudiced towards other cultures and races when they find an occasion to exchange values, that’s why in multicultural environments people become more understanding and tolerant towards each other. One of the great initiative in this manner is a student exchange program called Erasmus+ supported by the European Union. This program offers students a scholarship to study abroad, and the goal of this program is to provide a discovery of other countries’ cultures to students which assists to creation of common European culture.

In conclusion, rise of the number of young adults deciding to live abroad is caused by the simplicity of traveling around the world thanks to improved technology and globalized world circumstances, also the desire of the third nation citizens to create a better life in a developed country. Furthermore, what I believe is this is a positive change because it creates a harmonious world to live in.