Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their work place (e.g.: at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years the growing popularity of remote work has been largely driven by rapid technological advancement. Although this trend has both positive and negative aspects, I tent to think that advantages outweigh disadvantages.

One major benefit of is that individuals can improve their productivity without being distracted by office working hours. Each person have their own biorhythms and different peak hours depending weather they are more active in the morning or at night. For example, mothers who are on maternity leave, can’t work in office, because their children require a permanent care, and work from home could be a convenient decision. Therefore, companies can save a lot of money, if the will hire employees for remotely job, since utilities end space rent requires could be expensive.

On the other hand, people who work from home, more commonly suffered from depression or another mental health disease. This is caused by lack of social interaction. Since our nature behavior based on communication with other people, work remotely can deprive us this opportunity.

For instance, in Japan, the a vast majority of firms shifted to a remote work format, during Covid-19. This this, a lot of employees reported what the feel themselves lonely and experienced emotional isolation, because an ordinary interaction with colleagues was lost. Moreover, the boundaries between work and personal life was erased, what caused a burnout.

In conclusion, while there are both sides of work remotely, a believe that distant occupation can be a good way for work, because you can guide this your time