International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Some people believe that global sporting events are too expensive and cause unfavourable circumstances to the hosting side. I agree that these events may not be effective from the economic point of view. However, there are many other aspects that are influenced positively by these.

When a country wins a right to host a big sporting event, it takes a lot of serious obligations connected with high risks. For example, the country becomes responsible for developing its infrastructure and sporting facilities, investing and following firm deadlines. This requires much government’s money that should be returned for a short period of the event’s span, because most sporting facilities are not used for their purpose after the event.

This scheme cannot be called economically effective. However, countries continue to try to win that right due to other effects caused by international sporting events. As an example of these effects, the country opens to people all over the world, this is a great chance to show its culture and advancement, make their visibility and influence higher. We can see this in mass media where the hosting country is discussed during and after the event. Many people from different states want to visit the country afterwards and the level of their interest depends on their impression from the event.

To sum up, hosting of global sporting events is not an economically effective decision for a country. However, it is attractive for them because it helps to discover the country to the public and increase its influence.