International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

International sporting events like FIFA world cup, the Olympics, Wimbledon Championship, or other sports events might lead to big costs and several challenges for the organizing country. In other side, being a host-country will get some prominent advantages including economic growth, career opportunities, diplomatic relations, and other things.

Hosting huge international sports events may causes some drawbacks of the organizer country. Hosting country may become a financial burden for the hosting nation. For example, the 1976 Montreal Olympics left the city with a 1.5 billion dollars debt that took nearly 30 years to pay off. It also may lead to social and environmental damage like gentrification, displacement of residents, and increased crime rates. It also can lea to environmental damage including destruction of natural habitats, increased pollution, and a lot of energy consumption.

In other hand, one of the main advantages of hosting an enormous sports event might be the money from ticket sales. International visitors may help nation to develop productive sources of income from tourism section. It is important to note that tourists’ spending can have a positive effect on the host country’s economy. Because of it, hosting country can create career opportunities in the tourism, events, and business sectors. Hosting a big event also can help a country develop its diplomatic relations between host country and many other countries.

In conclusion, hosting an international competition may have drawbacks for the organizers, but there are also more advantages for the hosts. Hosting countries should consider regulating ticket prices to strike a balance between spending and income. Furthermore, tourists also should comply with regulations to avoid facing punishment. Overall, international sporting event do present challenges, but they also offer opportunities for economic growth and global exposure.