International tourism has greatly benefited many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In many places, international tourism has had many positive consequences. However, the issue related to the impact on the citizens and environment are not to be underrated. This essay maintains that there are more benefits than drawbacks and analyzes both to draw the final conclusions.

In most of the countries, tourism is the sector which generates the highest income. That is because people by travelling to a certain place spend money in shops, restaurants, museums but also for transport which dramatically contribute to a country’s revenue. Furthermore, in order to attract always more foreign tourists, governments incentivize the construction of “ad hoc” buildings and infrastructure that could increase the value of a city and increase the numbers of tourists. A good example of this could be the emerging of new discos, pubs, parks and restaurants that attract foreigners. Another great benefit is that by incentivizing tourism cities create new employments and job opportunities for the citizens, which enhance the quality urban living.

Conversely, drawbacks must be taken into consideration. Tourists are responsible for a major rise in pollution and waste. Consequently, this worsens the quality of air and the climate problems. A recent study found that 80% of foreigners, who travel to another country, usually take at least four taxi rides per day. Furthermore, by increasing the standards of living, the prices of basic necessities automatically rise, making it difficult for low-income families to make ends meet.

In conclusion, tourism has a great impact both on the citizens and the society. However, even though it contributes to environmental issues and economic problems for common people, the benefits far overweight the negative consequences. Tourism not only generates significant income for a country but also helps people by creating fancy building and new job positions.