Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ.

From past to present, interviews have always been an essential method used in recruiting employees for businesses. However, some people still show a skeptical attitude toward the reliability and effectiveness of this assessing system. Due to the proven helpfulness of interviews, I completely disagree with the stated notion.

It can be seen that interview has been a mandatory requirement in the working field, regardless of whether it is a Big Four firm or just a less-known company. Through actual performance in the interviews, the human resource staff can fully evaluate the candidate’s proficiency and decide if they are eligible or not. If not interviews, there is no other method to comprehensively assess the job applicants. For instance, if businesses employ and appraise the candidates on the basis of their entrance task achievement, they may encounter the case in which the applicants ask others to accomplish their assignment. As a result, the assessment made on that task will fail in showing their genuine expertise.

Moreover, taking interviews is an opportunity for interviewees to perform their soft skills, which can be hindered unless there is interaction between interviewer and applicant. Some abilities such as problem-solving skills or communication skills can be an advantage in the current competitive labour market. Exhibiting their agility and adaptability to the companies can raise the chosen rate for candidates. Also, businesses will not miss out on talent.

To sum up, interviews play a vital role in helping companies evaluate and employ proper staff. Through comprehensive assessment in both expertise and social aspects, this recruiting method shows its importance in the hiring system.