Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that interviews play a fundamental role in the selection procedures of many large corporations. Some people think that this method is unreliable and should be replaced by other means of recruiting employees. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement, concluding that interviews should be used alongside with other methods.

On the one hand, selecting employees through interviews may be unreliable to some extent. Firstly, there are several factors that may directly affect the candidates’ performances such as poor health, high pressure and anxiety. These factors may contribute to unsatisfied interview performances, making it difficult to accurately assess candidates’ competence. Since these physical and mental concerns are often unforeseen and unavoidable, relying solely on interviews may not be a desirable choice. Secondly, during some interviews, candidates may deceive their true abilities and achievements. There are further risks in online interviews, where recruiters cannot fully aware of external assistance being used by interviewers. These situations prevent recruiters from thoroughly evaluating candidates’ true abilities, potentially leading to wrong hiring decisions.

On the other hand, I believe that interviews play a pivotal role in every selection procedure. Interviews allow recruiters to evaluate the candidates’ problem-solving skills, bahaviour, manners, attitudes, providing valuable insights into their ablities and compatibility with the businesses. I believe that interviews should not be excluded, but rather being used alongside with other methods. For example, organizations may integrate interviews with other tests to assess both their social and professional skills. This combination may help recruiters make a more accurate hiring decisions.

In summary, as interviews may be unreliable to some extent, I believe that it should be combined with other methods to help interviewers making final recruitment decisions.