Is banning cars from city centres a positive or negative development?

Ever since vehicles became more affordable for the average citizen, there have been problems with traffic jams, pollution and quality of life within city centers. Commuting to work is a taxing effort which constitutes of too much time spent in the car. More and more people are visiting hospitals complaining of breathing difficulties and even getting injuries from collisions. While there are many arguments in favor of having cars within the city center, the benefits of banning them far outweigh those.

On one hand, the presence of vehicles within the center of a settlement provides convenience of commuting, a relief on the emergency services and an undeniable ease of everyday life. Hence, the primary argument for every citizen owning their own transportation is that their daily traveling to work is made much easier and more affordable. If this convenience needs to be removed, it would be necessary to provide alternative means of transportation for the general public. Furthermore, regarding emergencies, the easiest way to access a hospital or an ER is usually by private vehicle. However, if these were not allowed in the city, that would mean a further strain on the already overburdened ambulances. Finally, having a car available in almost every household provides an ease to completing weekly shopping, attending events, taking trips, and so on. If these vehicles were unable to enter the city center this would damage the convenience of living in the metropolis itself, which is the main attraction point of moving to a larger settlement.

On the other hand, banning cars from the heart of the city would solve problems such as pollution, traffic jams and parking issues. Thus, the people who are experiencing health issues due to the contaminated air would have better conditions for recovery. If cars become outlawed within the centers of settlements, the future generations would inherit a world which is better and greener. Considering traffic jams, many citizens suffer from idleness while losing time waiting to traverse from one part of the city to the other. If there were fewer cars in the city center, the population would prioritize their family, hobbies and personal development, which in turn would raise the overall productivity and happiness levels of the populous. Additionally, finding a parking spot in an urban area is taxing nowadays, causing anger and stress. If vehicles become forbidden within the center, people would have more pedestrian zones, space for parks or other entertainment areas which help with the general morale of the population.

In conclusion, banning cars from the city has its pros and cons. Although there are many sound arguments for having some vehicles operating in urban areas, it is undeniable that not having any cars is better for both the general health and satisfaction of the public. The implementation of this proposal is quite costly and it wouldn’t be easy for the citizens to get used to the new laws. Hence, the suggestion would be, in order to improve the overall health of the metropolis, to slowly introduce high taxes for all car owners and moderate taxes for hybrid car owners. This would allow for a slow transition to a completely car-free city within the following few decades.