It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

In today’s world, there is more choice for the consumer than ever before. Large supermarket chains sell products from around the world at very low prices. We are also able to buy anything we desire from the internet and, often, have it delivered the next day. However, this comes at the detriment of small local shops, and our local communities, I would suggest that we need to take measures to address this problem.

Large store chains are able to sell their products at rock bottom prices, and still have a significant profit. In other words, they can dominate the market and overshadow local shops due to the diversity of production they offer. Likewise, online shops save a noticeable amount of money by not renting any place and solely relying on delivery of online orders. It is obvious that they also can manage to sell their goods without big challenges, because of affordable prices they put.

On the other hand, I can say that this case has its own drawbacks on local communities and businesses. Firstly, if small local shops do not compete, owners would have to close them. As a result, local population has to purchase everything from larger supermarkets in the area. Also, they cannot get different local products.

In this situation, I believe that indigenous people should to support the small businesses and try to buy their production. The government could also play a major role by promoting them and accepting specific laws regarding reducing taxes to local businesses; thereby they can compete with larger companies.

In conclusion, we can see a number of reasons, that are mostly financially, why smaller shops are not able to compete those of larger ones as well as detrimental impacts on the community. Both individuals and authorities ought to play a role in supporting local stores so that we can save and develop the diversity of our regions.