It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite.

International sports events play an essential role in our society, despite their astronomical costs. There is a conflicting dispute over whether countries organize these events or not, as this is money-consuming. This matter has both positive and negative implications for the economy and citizens’ well-being. I would lean toward the former, and a detailed discussion will be given in the following essay.

On the one hand, hosting an international sports event brings several merits related to tourism and the national image of the host country. The first benefit is a great deal of revenue from tourists since those events attract ample international spectators, who will spend on a wide range of services such as transport, accommodation, food, travel, and entertainment. Take Vietnam as an example; around 190 billion VND were withdrawn after they held Seagame 31. Besides, being a host country promotes the national image, making it famous globally for its friendly citizens, secure society, and attractive destinations for not only visitors but also investors. These advantages benefit local people’s income, nations’ economies, and the thriving of a nation in the long term.

Turning to potential risks might come along with worldwide’s sports events, especially in terms of public security and finance. Firstly, it is a huge waste of money due to the construction of grand infrastructure for sports (stadiums, transport, and accommodation). In fact, those top-knot sports facilities, which cost prohibitively for maintenance, are usually unused after events. Bird Nest Stadium, for instance, erected to serve at the 2008 Olympics and costing over 400 million USD, is abandoned now. Furthermore, host countries also have to allocate state funds on management fees to secure society and minimize social problems (theft, terrorism, traffic congestion, and gambling) when they welcome hordes of tourists.

In conclusion, the host country would face some risks rooted in international sports events; however, these matters can be dealt with with careful planning. Therefore, I must lean toward it for its huge benefits, as it delivers the best outcome.