It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

It is commonly said that “not everything that is learned is contained in books,” emphasizing the value of learning by doing. Having said that, it is widely accepted that books exist as the key sources of human’s life. Besides the fact that books and experiences are significant sources of knowledge, I believe it is inevitable that these two learning resources have their own merits and deserve to be discussed further.

On one hand, books provide a very well-structured and comprehensive knowledge. Taking into consideration that books are written by experts who have studied particular subjects, it is unavoidable that books offer knowledge that is integral in order to guide oneself to master certain areas of expertise. Scientists, for example, cannot rely solely on their work experience to do their jobs. They need to study from sources like books to expand their knowledge. Additionally, pupils in schools must learn based on books which provide them clearer vision of their future work. For instance, learn from accounting literature is important for those who wants to be an accountant. Consequently, books offer a significant impact for individuals to systematically learn new things.

On the other hand, knowledge gained from experience is practical and often more valuable when it comes to applying for job. By having various experiences, it allows individuals to apply the theoretical concept in real-world situations. For example, people need to do more organizational activity in order to equipped themselves with skills such as leadership and public speaking. They cannot solely read self improvement books and expect to master these relevant skills. Furthermore, experience often involves emotional and social learning, helping individuals develop skills like empathy, resilience, and adaptability—qualities that books alone cannot teach. Thus, experience also plays a significant role for individuals’ improvement.

In conclusion, both books and experience offer their own advantages. While books provide more theoretical concepts of specific knowledge, experience serves as a provider of practical skills. Therefore, I believe that by doing what is stated in books to real life can be more beneficial for individuals in becoming skillful.