It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether readers’ imagination and linguistic ability can be more developed than people watching TV. I disagree with this because both of them have their particular advantage in different aspects.

There are many good reasons why reading can help people enrich their imagination as well as their writing and reading skills. With regard to the former, books or articles are textual documents and contain a few pictures. If people want to interpret the flow of a story in a book, their brain has to think and imagine the situation. Due to the practice and frequency, their creative ability develops to a great extent. As for the latter, people who consider reading as fulfilling their interests get better at vocabulary sources and comprehending grammar skills. Critical and analysis thinking skills trained through exposure to textual interpretation help readers improve their writing and grammar ability. Therefore, reading habits play a pivotal role in success.

Additionally, for someone that prefers watching TV or videos, it also enhances their imagination. Exposing details on screens improves their color capability and sensitivity to movement so that they have unique perspectives on designs or products related to logic and creativity. Furthermore, the sounds and images of video create favorable conditions for people to comfortably and subconsciously learn about a certain language. Their oral and listening skills are developed by the process in which they enjoy movies or entertainment programs.

In conclusion, watching TV along with reading books both fosters imagination and enhances language skills. In my opinion, reading and watching provide mutual support in the development of our cognitive abilities, especially imagination and linguistics capability.