It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether it is ideal for the elderly to remain in the labour force within the condition of their ability to continue to work. While acknowledging certain oppositions of this school of thought, in general, I agree with this point of view.

Granted, opponents of this proposal often argue that the elderly should retire and enjoy the rest of life to the fullest. This is predicated on the assumption that money is not an ultimate goal itself, but instead a means to an end. In other words, it is a tool for people to fulfil their personal aspirations and be able to passionately engage in any activities without financial constraints. Nevertheless, not all the elderly are capable of enjoying the rest of their life sufficiently financially, and there are still some aged people who are struggling to meet their daily basic needs. That said, removing constrictions on working age allows these individuals, especially the underprivileged ones, to continue earning a source of income themselves. Furthermore, such practice also alleviates unnecessary burdens for the government, particularly the national budget allocated to social welfare programmes, as there would be fewer people with access to pension eligibility.

There are also further arguments in terms of education and health to back the approach of lifting the restrictions on working age. Regarding the former, senior workers have accumulated valuable experience during their whole life, meaning these people not only can play a vital role as a mentor or coach, but also can contribute their expertise and wisdom to the development and prosperity of organisations, as well as enhance the employability of prospective young workers, thereby prompting the intergenerational transmission of knowledge and skills. As for the well-being perspective, offering more employment opportunities for the elderly can promote a positive effect on both their physical and mental health. This is because many retirees are highly vulnerable to the sense of isolation and uselessness, stemming from lacking opportunities for interaction and social engagements. Therefore, allowing them to contribute to society and the economy can reduce these negative feelings and improve their physical and cognitive functions, helping them to maintain a sense of fulfilment and self-esteem.

In conclusion, while the idea of allowing old people to remain relevant in the labour market can be unnecessary to a certain number of people, I believe it should be adopted more widely given plenty of its benefits.