It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Many suggest that individuals should keep working in their old age at their own pace and only if they are able to. I strongly believe that activities could keep them and their muscles active, also they would not be dependent on someone else for their own task. The reason for my support with few examples are explained in the following paragraphs.

Generally, happiness and joy is inversely proportional to each other, one increases and the other goes down. First and foremost, elderly people need exercise on daily basis, not intense workout but routine activities are enough. However, they are even willing to do the daily routine task, which results into to weak muscles and pain. Hence, if they do not stop their work, their activities would continue, helping them not becoming weak and tired. Secondly, aged individuals often wait for too long, when they want to need a particular task to be done, like seeking help from young ones. Whereas, if their activities are not paused, they would no thave to rely on some one for their own need.

For instance, my own grandfather, currently works as a cashier in the bank, also he buys his necessary grocery and medicines from the market directly.

Furthermore, many elderly people spend time doing nothing, they fall in the trap of boredom. Boredom kills the inner excitment and joy, people even stop enjoying things they have. Some sort of work would help overcome boredom of aged group. Not only this, but also the aged people are more experienced in most of the fields, working peers would get many things to learn form them. To exemplify, many of age people in my seats at the entrance with their group just doing nothing than small talks, this causes them in a negative way and also affects their behaviour.

To conclude, it is not a compulsion for elderly people to work. It only benefits them in some or the other way. Also, they are respected in the society for being healthy and independent at such a age, often appreciated by the young generation makes them feel proud.