It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, the idea of taking a gap year, after graduating from school, becoming more popular every day. This essay will demonstrate the privileges of gap year and what kind of challenges it can lead to.

One of the advantages of having a free time, accounting for a whole year, may be a travelling. Travelling and exploring other countries can broaden horizons which can be really useful for critical thinking. Communication with people from other countries improves ability of express thoughts, listen and arrange with others. Moreover, when students travel and meet range of traditions, languages and lifestyles, It can teach tolerance, respect and flexibility. The second advantage of gap year is having enough time for choosing a suitable profession. The majority of seniors can’t decide with one certain occupation, even throughout the high school. Having a year off after graduation gives an opportunity, for students, to try different kind of scope.

On the other hand, students can face a problems such as lack of motivation or loss of concentration after a gap year, which can become a significant issue. A lot of students can find it hard to return to academic knowledge and can not catch their focus on studying. Returning to usual study routine can take many time and make a bad influence for exam results. Others type of seniors don’t even trying to study out of loss of confidence and motivation. It can lead to challenges to get a job in a future due to employers who will choose a person with academic degree rather with only experience.

In conclusion, a gap year can give people a different kind of opportunities if it planned well.