It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a gap year between finishing school and starting university has become increasingly common nowadays. Taking a gap year may help students set clearer goals for their future, however some drawbacks of this decision must be taken into account.

Education is a long and continuous process, which requires dedication, and motivation. Everybody has a different mindset, some of them may have confusion after a long educational process after high school. At this stage, taking a step back to reflect and plan their career path has irreplaceable perks. It helps students discover their interests and career goals. During the gap year, they can travel, work or volunteer, which allows them to gain real-life experience and understand what they truly enjoy. For instance, someone interested in medicine may volunteer at a hospital to decide whether that career suits them.

Saving money for univeristy expenses is the other main positive of a gap year. Sometimes people think that in every stage of their life, there will be financial support from their family. But the reality is that, the average cost of a university student is five times more than high school student’s. Consequently, a gap year will give an opportunity to work and save money to those who want to manage their life themselves during their university life.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that a gap year can cause a loss of motivation. Scientific research shows that 26% of students that took a gap year, tend to have financial dependency on their family for a certain period of their life. In particular, the ones who took a year off think that they are behind others and start to compare themselves with others who entered university, and these thoughts are the main factors for depression.

In conclusion, taking a gap year can help people to find out their way without hurrying, however it can have negative side effects on some people.