It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, many students decide to take a gap year between finishing highschool and entering a university. While having a year off can help you with understanding yourself better and what career path to persue, there are drawbacks, such as potential lost of valuable time.

One major benefit of tacking a gap year is the time that you can use to understand yourself better and choose what to major in in the university. This is very useful because most of teenagers who graduated from school still do not know what they want or should do in their life. Moreover, young minds do not want to go into adult lifestyle so soon and still what to have time for hanging out with friends or traveling. In addition, this free time without any pressure from upcoming deadlines in universities or work could favor their mind and help them understanding particularly what they want from their lifes.

On the other hand, the risk of loosing so much valuable time in the age between 17 and 19 cannot be ignored. When all of your friends or form classmates will already feel independance and all the benefits of adulthood, you, however, would still be living with your parents and will not be able to have those vital experiences early in life. Hence people of your age will be ahead of you in terms of independence. Furthermore, they will graduate from college earlier and find work faster that you because you will be busy studying. And because of this factors many teenagers ended up regreting their choise to take a year off.

In conclution, while gap year year can help you by providing more time for yourself, consequently, you can understand better what carrer path you want to persue, there are many disanvntages such as risk of loosing time and potential lack of independence.